Home > Greenspace > Monarch Garden > Monarch Resources

Here are some of our favourite web resources. Please note this is not an exhaustive list.  If you find another reference others would find useful, please pass it along.

Organizations

Wild Pollinators Canada   https://wildpollinators-pollinisateurssauvages.ca  

Monarch Teacher Network  https://trca.ca/learning/professional-development/monarch-teacher-network-canada/resources/

Canadian Wildlife Federation  http://cwf-fcf.org/en/explore/monarchs/

Butterfly Garden  https://monarchbutterflygarden.net/ 

Local News Stories

In Focus Lake88 interview,  June 14, 2021.   Clara Misener, volunteer Butterflyway Ranger with the David Suzuki Foundation’s

News Stories

Op-Ed: The Monarch Butterfly Emergency Unfolding Before Our Eyes  https://civileats.com/2021/04/21/op-ed-the-monarch-butterfly-emergency-unfolding-before-our-eyes/

A Tribue to the Monarch Butterfly:  How to Turn Your Backyard into a Butterfly Friendly Habitat. https://porch.com/advice/backyard-butterfly-garden

Are We Watching the End of the Monarch Butterfly?   https://www.nytimes.com/2019/01/25/opinion/monarch-butterfly-california-extinction.html?action=click&module=Opinion&pgtype=Homepage

Monarch butterfly resurgence might not take flight, says Ottawa prof   https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/ottawa/monarch-butterfly-recovery-mexico-february-2019-1.5015029   

Destruction of National Butterfly Center Could Begin This Week To Make Room For Border Wall  https://www.newsandguts.com/video/destruction-on-national-butterfly-center-could-begin-this-week-to-make-room-for-border-wall/?fbclid=IwAR20N-grfCZ1d_P9ieYWVdFIAZGxTOQmpiw_IEhB-TG4qLRybSo6s9xtN0A

Wintering monarch butterfly population booms with 144 per cent increase https://globalnews.ca/news/4910987/wintering-monarch-butterfly-population-increase/

Golf courses across U.S. step up to save monarch butterflies  https://www.mnn.com/earth-matters/animals/stories/golf-courses-across-us-step-save-monarch-butterflies?fbclid=IwAR2s6LzI3JIUz_Uth5L3NOWgpmCOFIzgouN_ZUnbtSy5L3ErziL3uPlFui0

14 Butterflies to Brighten Up Your Day  https://cottagelife.com/outdoors/14-beautiful-butterflies-to-brighten-up-your-day/?utm_source=Cottage_Life_Newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Dockside_June3_2021&mc_cid=7cefd9ead2&mc_eid=7498ab7d9d

Building Gardens

David Suzuki Foundation:  Create a Butterfly Oasis 

Friend of the Earth, Trees for Bees   https://foecanada.org/the-bee-cause/trees-for-bees/

Building a Garden  https://youtu.be/usXzWU_AlJE 

Waystation Certification Program  https://www.monarchwatch.org/waystations/certify.html  

Waystation Network UK    http://www.monarchwaystationnetwork.res.ku.edu/

Learn About Nature  https://www.thebutterflysite.com/butterfly-garden.html

10 Commandments of Butterfly Gardens (38 min.)  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u96-EblEUec

 

Videos (just nice to look at)

The Beauty of Pollination (video)  http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/xHkq1edcbk4?rel=0

Other Nearby Gardens to Visit (or admire on the web)

Maitland Garden of Hope   https://maitlandgardenofhope.ca/

Perth Wildlife Reserve

Fletcher Wildlife Garden  https://ofnc.ca/programs/fletcher-wildlife-garden/about-the-fwg  

Sources of Plants, Seeds, Caterpillar Raising Kits etc.

A website of sources  https://shop.monarchbutterflies.ca/

Not So Hollow Farm  https://notsohollowfarm.ca/got-milkweed/   Mulmar, ON (N. of Toronto)

American Meadows https://www.americanmeadows.com/blog/2015/06/11/how-to-germinate-and-grow-milkweed-seed/

Amazon – various sources  https://www.amazon.ca/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=milkweeds+seeds&tag=googcana-20&index=aps&hvadid=267167897518&hvpos=1t1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=18346459802941081501&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=b&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9000710&hvtargid=kwd-422457608046&ref=pd_sl_6huz3an7mu_b

Crafts

Building a Butterfly Box  https://feltmagnet.com/crafts/garden-butterfly-box